Jake Tapper

CNN anchor Jake Tapper talks about the modern news landscape, hosting CNN’s “The Lead” and his 2018 novel, “The Hellfire Club.”

CNN anchor and chief Washington correspondent Jake Tapper joined the network in January 2013. Tapper currently hosts a one-hour weekday program, “The Lead with Jake Tapper,” which debuted in March 2013 and has hosted CNN’s Sunday morning show, “State of the Union,” since June 2015. Tapper has won a number of awards, including a 2017 Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Television Political Journalism, the Los Angeles Press Club’s President’s Award for Impact on Media and The Canadian Journalism Foundation’s Tribute to Exemplary Journalism. His debut novel, “The Hellfire Club,” was published in April 2018.

Walter Mosley

Author Walter Mosley talks about writing crime fiction, book-to-movie adaptations and incorporating racial issues into his storytelling.

Walter Mosley is a best-selling author. A Grand Master of the Mystery Writers of America, he has won numerous awards, including the Anisfield-Wolf Award, a Grammy, a PEN USA’s Lifetime Achievement Award and several NAACP Image awards. His books have been translated into more than twenty languages. Mosley’s short fiction has appeared in a wide array of publications, including The New Yorker, GQ, Esquire, The Los Angeles Times Magazine and Playboy, and his nonfiction has been published in The New York Times Book Review, The New York Times Magazine, Newsweek and The Nation.


T.C. Boyle

Author T.C. Boyle talks about his novel “The Terranauts,” having his books adapted for the big screen and more.

T.C. Boyle has published fifteen novels and ten volumes of short stories, including the PEN/Faulkner Award-winning “World’s End; The Tortilla Curtain,” which was also awarded France’s prestigious Prix Médici étranger; and the New York Times bestseller “The Harder They Come.” His novel “The Terranauts” was released in 2016.


Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood is an award-winning author of more than 40 volumes of poetry, children’s literature, fiction and nonfiction. She’s best known for her novels, including “The Edible Woman,” “The Handmaid’s Tale” and “The Blind Assassin,” which won the Booker Prize in 2000. Her novel “The Heart Goes Last” was published in 2015.

Joyce Carol Oates

Joyce Carol Oates is one of the most distinguished and critically-acclaimed fiction writers in America. She is a recipient of the National Medal of Humanities, the National Book Critics Circle Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award, the National Book Award and the PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in Short Fiction and has been nominated for the Pulitzer Prize. Her works of fiction include “We Were the Mulvaneys,” “Blonde” and “The Accursed.” Her collection of stories, “Lovely, Dark, Deep: Stories,” was published in September of 2014.

Russell Banks

Russell Banks is an admired and accomplished American novelist whose credits include “Affliction” and “The Sweet Hereafter,” which were made into movies. His novel, “Lost Memory of Skin,” was published in 2011.

Overheard with Evan Smith Sponsors

Hill Co Partners

Made in Austin Sponsors

ABC Home and Commerical Services
Austin Regional Clinic